Archive for the ‘Wyndham, John’ Category

In R J Dent’s Library – John Wyndham

September 25, 2013


A look in R J Dent’s library at the works of the post-apocalyptic and science fiction master – John Wyndham.




In R J Dent’s Library – John Wyndham

Text (c) R J Dent (2013)

Film (c) R J Dent (2013)

rjdent logo




John Wyndham

September 14, 2010

John Wyndham (10 July 1903 – 11 March 1969) was the pen name used by English science fiction writer John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Beynon Harris.



During his writing career, John Wyndham used various combinations of his names, such as John Beynon, John Benyon Harris, or Lucas Parkes.

By 1931, Wyndham was selling short stories and serial fiction to American science fiction pulp magazines, mostly under the pen names of ‘John Beynon’ or ‘John Beynon Harris’. He also wrote some detective stories.

Over time he altered his writing style and in 1951 started using the John Wyndham pseudonym for the first time. He wrote The Day of the Triffids. The novel was an enormous success and it established Wyndham as an important science fiction writer. He went on to publish six more novels and several short story collections under the name John Wyndham, all of which appeared in his lifetime.


Here is a bibliography:

Foul Play Suspected (1935) (as John Beynon) novel


The Secret People (1935) (as John Beynon) novel


Stowaway to Mars (1936) (as John Benyon; also known as The Space Machine and Planet Plane) novel

The Day of the Triffids (1951) novel

The Kraken Wakes (1953) (also known as Out of the Deeps) novel

Jizzle (1954) short stories

The Chrysalids (1955) (also known as Re-Birth) novel

The Seeds of Time (1956) short stories

The Midwich Cuckoos (1957) novel


The Outward Urge (1959) inter-connected short stories


Trouble with Lichen (1960) novel

Consider Her Ways and Others (1961) short stories

Chocky (1968) novel

Sleepers of Mars (1973) short stories

The Best of John Wyndham (1973) short stories

Wanderers of Time (1973) short stories



Exiles on Asperus (1979) short stories



Web (1979) novel



No Place like Earth (2003)



Plan for Chaos (2009) novel


John Wyndham died aged 65 at his home, survived by his wife and brother. Subsequently, some of his unsold work has been published and his earlier work re-published.

Here is a short film about the works of John Wyndham:


Here is a link for buying the works of John Wyndham: