May I Please Have My Star Back? by R J Dent

An extract from an abandoned science fiction novel.

 
imagesGO8D1GPN

by R J Dent

 

As I drove past the crashed spaceship, I started thinking about how we (as a race) very soon accept things as they have become – and even start to take certain strange things for granted.

Eleven years ago it had crashed there. Not one single person had actually seen it crash, but everyone for miles around had heard it. It had screamed out of the sky at three in the morning, on the one and only morning in the history of the world when absolutely everyone was asleep. There had been no solitary night prowlers, no 24-hour café or shop workers, no out-with-dog walkers, no tea-breaking shift workers, no shop-doorway sleeping tramps, no passing through long-distance lorry drivers, no anybody at all to witness its Icarus-like descent from the skies, or its mighty crash into and onto the decrepit Odeon cinema. The cinema had been showing the new print of The Day the Earth Stood Still that week, so obviously there were a few news people who had said it was all a publicity stunt that had gone badly wrong. Later, of course, that particular theory was seen to be the first example of the desperate answer-groping that seemed to grip everyone over the next year or so. Read more…

465644_may-i-please-have-my-star-back_230x230

May I Please Have My Star Back?

Copyright © R J Dent (2009 & 2016)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “May I Please Have My Star Back? by R J Dent”

  1. Dianne Abbott Says:

    I enjoyed this story very much. It says in the note that it’s an extract from an abandoned novel. If you ever finish this novel, R J Dent, I’d definitely like to read it.

Leave a comment