Rupert Thomson

Rupert Thomson (born 1955) is an English novelist who has published ten novels and a memoir to date.

         Rupert Thomson

Rupert Thomson was born in Eastbourne, on the south coast of England in 1955. He was educated at Christ’s Hospital School and Cambridge University.

After working as a copywriter in London, he moved to Italy in 1982, and then lived for a while in Barcelona. He currently resides in London.

His novels are:

Dreams of Leaving (1987)


The Five Gates of Hell (1991)


Air & Fire (1993)


The Insult (1996)

Soft! (1998)


The Book of Revelation (1999)


Divided Kingdom (2005)


Death of a Murderer (2007)


This Party’s Got to Stop (2010) – a memoir.


Secrecy (2013)

Katherine Carlyle (2015)



Rupert Thomson’s novels are complex, unpredictable, multi-layered and disconcerting. The best five, in no particular order are: Katherine Carlyle, The Book of Revelation, Divided Kingdom, Soft! and Dreams of Leaving. The others are very good, and definitely worth reading.

The Book of Revelation has been made into a film. Here’s a trailer:

Follow this link

for more information on the film.

Try reading one of Rupert Thomson’s novels. They’re not comfortable reads, but you won’t be disappointed. Rupert Thomson’s books can be found at:


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Rupert Thomson”

  1. A darker side of Amsterdam. « The Hieroglyphic Streets Says:

    […] Thomson at The Guardian after the book came out. Maud Newton interviewed Thomson.  RJ Dent has the film trailer (scroll […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s