Alcaeus: Pour Perfume Over My Head

 

 

Alcaeus: Poems & Fragments - translated by R J Dent

 

 

 

Pour perfume over my head

which has suffered a great deal,

and over my grey-haired chest.

 

As for my guests, let them drink 

the evils of the day away, 

and revel in all the gods have given.

 

And with other men, I toast Dionysus,  

but the man who does not raise his cup,  

you say has lost his reason.

 

 

 

 

Poem: Pour Perfume Over My Head
by Alcaeus
Translation © R J Dent (2009)

This translation first appeared in Acumen 56 (2006)

Cover painting: A detail from Sappho & Alcaeus (1881) by Lawrence Alma-Tadema

Alcaeus

Poems & Fragments

Translated by R J Dent

http://www.circaidygregory.co.uk/alcaeus.htm

 

www.rjdent.com

 

 

r-j-dent-logo1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Alcaeus: Pour Perfume Over My Head”

  1. Pour Perfume Over My Head Says:

    […] Original post by R J Dent […]

Leave a Reply

