The Man from Lindos Tunes his Bouzouki

lindos-acropolis1

In the afternoon sun and stillness

I sit in delicious cool and shade

beneath this gnarled olive tree

and tune my bouzouki

One string I tune

to the goats grazing on the rock-strewn hills

One string I tune

to the lizard sunning itself on a hot grey rock

One string I tune

to the incessant chirruping of the cicadas

One string I tune

to the stonemasons rebuilding the temple of Diana

One string I tune

to the butterflies meandering towards the liquidambar tree

One string I tune

to the baby shark gliding through the turquoise shallows

One string I tune

to the eagle flying slow and low over the island

One string I tune

to the cats padding through the acropolis

All of the strings I tune

to the sudden fall of a deep-starred

warm and almond-scented night

for now it is time to play


The Man from Lindos Tunes his Bouzouki

by Ράσελ Τζον Ντεντ

Translation © R J Dent (2009)

www.rjdent.com

r-j-dent-logo32

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

