Stone God Head

 

stone-god-head1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On this island, in this clearing

Beneath my pitiless gaze

They move in ritual silence

Devouring the sacrifice

 

On the altar is a new heart

A stone god’s delicacy

It is one of oh so many

I’ve been fed over the years

 

Earlier, they prayed for guidance

Begging me to bless their land

Bonfire smoke poured through my flutings

Sounding a note in my throat

 

And I sang my own stone god song

In my split and cracked stone voice

Demanding a high tithe in blood

Ordering the flames to cleanse

 

A fine ash lines my lidless eyes

That stare at infinity

Nothing grows in this scorched soil

Ruined by tributes to me

 

Every day they feed me fresh hearts

Spilling blood to set them free

I have ruled them all for eons

I will live for centuries

 

 

 

Stone God Head

© R J Dent (2004)

 

www.rjdent.com

r-j-dent-logo5

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

